The Tune Recreation Committee is a Cape Town based ensemble including a stellar lineup of musicians who draw from a diverse array of musical genres. The TRC unit delivers a textured, grooving blend of contemporary African Jazz.

The TRC are lead by trumpeter and composer Mandla Mlangeni, the 2019 Standard Bank Young Artist For Jazz.  Currently configured as a Sextet, the Tune Recreation Committee band features Clement Benny on drums, Nicholas Williams on bass, Reza Khota on guitar, Afrika Mkhize on piano, and Mark Fransman on tenor saxophone.

In April 2019, the album “Africa Grooves with the Tune Recreation Committee” was shortlisted for “Best Jazz Album” in the forthcoming 2019 South African Music Awards.

past events

view all

drag to explore